The Western Deans` Agreement is a long-standing agreement between Athabasca University, university of Alberta, Brandon University, University of British Columbia, University of British Columbia Institute of Technology, University of Calgary, Concordia University College, University of Lethbridge, University of Manitoba, University of Regina, Royal Roads University, the University of Saskatchewan, Simon Fraser University, the University of Victoria, Thompson Rivers University. Université du Nord de la Colombie-Britannique, Université de la Colombie-Britannique (Okanagan), Université de Fraser Valley et Université de Winnipeg. The primary purpose of the Western Dean`s Agreement (WDA) is to mutually enrich graduate programs throughout Western Canada. This agreement is not intended to conflict with other agreements between participating institutions. Note: The $250 administration fee only applies to «incoming» WDA students. Our students who take a course at another Western university as part of the WDA only have to pay the fees charged by the host institution. The WDA provides an automatic tuition fee waiver for visiting students. Program and course fees are omitted. PhD students who pay normal tuition fees at their home institution do not pay tuition fees for the approved course at the host institution. Students may be required to pay for student activities, application fees or other incidental fees at the host institution, in accordance with the general guidelines applicable to the host institution. Where possible, these fees are also waived.

For more information, see the Web site at a form that can be downloaded from that Web site. 1. Fill out the WDA form (available under This agreement was created in 1974 as an expression of cooperation and mutual support among universities offering postgraduate programs in Western Canada. Its primary objective is the mutual enrichment of graduation programs across Western Canada. This agreement must not preclude other agreements between the participating institutions. 5. If the authorization has been granted by the host institution, you will receive a letter of authorization from the University of Manitoba Student Secretariat. You must also ensure that you have received a notice of admission from the host institution and that you are responsible for enrolling in the course at the host institution. Students may not benefit from a waiver of fees for a total period of more than 12 months, in accordance with the terms of this Agreement. Please note these terms and conditions of the Western Deans Agreement: Enrollment is possible in advanced and bachelor`s level courses, as well as in credit courses offered remotely or otherwise. To be eligible, courses must be an integral part of the applicant`s graduate program.

Fee waiver is not allowed for audit or non-credit courses. Note: The university where you are enrolled in a degree program is your home institution. The university where you want to take a course is the host institution. 6. When the course is completed and a grade has been assigned, please have an official certificate of degree from the host institution sent directly to the Registrar`s Office, 400 University Centre, University of Manitoba. 3. Submit the form along with a description of the course you wish to take to the Faculty of Graduate Studies, 500 University Centre. Under the terms of the Western Deans Agreement, the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies must receive completed forms at least 6 weeks prior to the start of enrolment at the University of British Columbia.

If a form is not received and approved in a timely manner, the student may not receive permission to take the course. In addition, fee waiver is not possible retroactively. 2. Ask your department to complete Part 1 under Home Institution. .